top of page
  • Writer's pictureGeorge

Interim show & Low Residency

Images and thoughts from the MA Art programme interim show 2024.


Not only was this our first opportunity as masters students to test ideas in a gallery setting, but it was the first time meeting in person as a group.


The show entitled See it. Say it. Unsorted. was hosted at UAL's Central Saint Martins campus and featured work of over 100 Year one students from the MA Art and Science, MA Contemporary Photography; Practices and Philosophies, MA Fine Art and MA Fine Art Digital programs.



My installation took the form of four digital prints from my Order / Disorder project, displayed on a large LCD display (I must get the dimensions). This was the biggest I've seen my work and I have to say I was impressed with how they survived being blown-up beyond my usual 12 or 24" square. Seeing them in this format further confirmed to me that the use of lightboxes, LCD screens, light projection, in fact any form of illumination is the way forward.



There was a shift in the colour balance on the display screen when compared to the originals (below), in hindsight some tweaking of the display controls could have rectified this (note to self for future installs). One unexpected benefit of showcasing my work on a screen was that I was unaffected by the gallery's poor lighting; during daylight hours the space took advantage of natural light pouring in from the glass ceiling however (being March) this didn't last beyond 3pm and the artificial lighting failed to provide any form of substitution during the darker hours.





What worked:

Opportunity to present collages on a large LCD screen

Experience of showcasing work as a cohort

Opportunity to bond with my classmates

Chance to network with students from across the MA Arts programme

Teamwork in regards to show preparation


Room for improvement:

Gallery lighting was inadequate for the venue size

Artwork labelling (lack of)

Show documentation - some artists not mentioned

Equipment storage


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page